An afternoon at Cliffhouse…


One of my most favorite part of the country is Tagaytay. I am so blessed and lucky to have it just an hour away from our house (if without the traffic jam).

1

I was always aiming to take a photo of this welcome signage, then i did it this time..=)

Young as I was, we frequent the place, it was like a huge park for me, there’s the highest point, where you can enjoy the whole panoramic view of Sta.Rosa, Tagaytay itself and some of Batangas.

Blooms of all the colors you can think of can be spotted everywhere. Picnic grove was very famous even when I was a child, had been a favorite of excursionists that allows you to do horse back-riding. Recently, they introduced zip-lining too.

Tagaytay established itself as tourist spot enticing investors to build hotels here and there due to influx of local and foreign visitors. Currently, there are more than a hundred hotels to choose from, each offering their own uniqueness, details of each making a difference which makes choosing a little harder and fun too.

The place had also been venues of seminars, trainings, retreats as started by DAP and a lot of weddings were held here too. Spas are like mushrooms sprucing in every corner, not to mention the restaurants too. There’s a zoo too, Tagaytay is like a one stop shop, upon your plight, everything you need is there. What captivates the hearts of so many, is the cold weather of Tagaytay, as a child, it is here where I saw thick fogs for the first time. My papa had to stop driving from time to time due to zero visibility especially during the “ber” months.

One early weekend morning, we hit the road heading to Tagaytay. My mom’s cousin is residing in Tagaytay and they are celebrating the annual fiesta. And so I grabbed the opportunity to enjoy Tagaytay to the fullest. (–,) We decided to check out Cliffhouse.

3

Cliffhouse – at last!

Initially, I was just craving for froyo (frozen yogurt) feeling bloated after having lunch with more than 5 different viands to choose from (this is how fiestas in the Philippines are being celebrated – fiestas: festivals celebrating the patron saint of a particular town), and then later we discovered that Cliffhouse is a a whole block of the following establishments: Fire lake grill, Buon giorno, Cafe Breton, Domicillo, Burger bar, there’s a hotel too, a Souvenir shop,

12

Souvenir shop!

Attendant claimed it's prohibited to take photos inside the Souvenir shop, sowee, she's too busy to notice...

Attendant claimed it is prohibited to take photos inside the Souvenir shop, sowee, she’s too busy to notice…

13

I so love this mannequin!

2

Excited for my frozen yogurt!

4

Where to? =)

6

loved this wicker!

The shop where I got my yogurt!

5

want to have a fling?=)

There’s a space where you could get a good view of the Taal volcano,

9

This area allows you to have a good view of the Taal volcano..

some comfy benches, trees and flowering plants made up a place worthy of being revisited time and again.

8

Tweet-tweet!

7

Symmetry..

16

Balance..

11

Focal point..

Plus, the many choices nearby of whatever that you are craving for. We had some pizzas from Buon Giorno with drinks that comes in giant mugs shaped like a muscled arm. I found it really cute so I had to take a photo of it. (–,)

buon giorno menu

Buon Giorno is “Good morning”!

10

My yellow mango shake!

This resto by the way coveted the Best Restaurant award from the Philippine Tatler.

tatler

Tatler’s taste..

bottle

Personalized dressings..

birdcages

Where are the birds?

And this is just one of the many authentic restaurants that you can find in Tagaytay. Please take a look at my top 10 list:

1. Eateries from Mahogany market

2. Mushroom Burger

(I even heard my former boss saying “What’s Tagaytay without Mushroom burger?”)

3. Antonio’s 

4. Mile-hi

5. Bag of Beans

6. Gerry’s Grill

7. Rowena’s

8. Verbena 

9. Sonya’s Garden

10. Buon Giorno

After seeing my own list, I was thinking of the other places that I think are as good as those I listed. I think I’m listing a second batch soon. Suggestions are always welcome! As I will never get tired going to Tagaytay, the more I see it, the more I love being there. The place is so peaceful to me. There’s a different air that I always feel being in Tagaytay, not just because it’s colder there, it’s really something special. (–,) And it’s best felt than told. Please come and see for yourself! (–,)

15

So where do I go next in Tagaytay? (–,)

Leave a Reply

