My own version of Shabby Chic…


My own version of Shabby Chic…

“People rarely succeed unless they have fun in what they are doing.” -Dale Carnegie-

A few years ago while I was without a job, I tried my best to be productive (battling my insecurity) even if I’m just at home. I look at it (having no job) positively (as an inspiring thought from a friend to turn negative into positive) and ended up creating pretty things (in my eyes) which I’ve always wanted to do but just can’t because I do not have ample time to do them. One of which is quilting.

While researching for several ideas in quilting (so grateful to Pinterest, Shabby Chic by Rachel Ashwell, Flower story from Facebook) I discovered myself falling in love with Shabby chic and all things that comes with it. I got so inclined with anything vintage too, reminded me of Casa San Pablo and why I was so attracted with their stuffs displayed in all corner, even the doodles on their floors.

If I may include it here, I used to paint. It was just a minor subject during college, and I eventually fell in love with painting too. It was just so costly and when I became a mother, you normally allocate your extra funds for your child, and I stopped painting then. But, really, I want to paint. Again.

Recently, because of shabby chic, I found myself having mixes of personalized color not to create a masterpiece, but to paint the terra cotta pots (lots of them) that my father acquired through the years. (–,)

I also was able to find a vintage water can (ceramic) and was happy upon acquiring it. I’m eyeing another vintage windchime for our garden too! (–,)

I also loved scrapbooking and collecting stamps. I guess the child in me remains. Being a graduate of Interior Design, I was with smiles that during my researches, Shabby chic is actually a form of Interior design! (–,) The desire to create pretty things (even if the’yre old already) remained in me.

Thanks again to the three sites I’ve mentioned a while ago for giving me endless ideas and validating some of mine can be possible too. These sites have helped me (big time!) as to how I will transform our house to be defined as Shabby chic.

Let me share with you some stuff I’ve done for the past 2 years. It is a slow process but I’m pretty sure I’ll be smiling wide in the end. Besides, designing your home even if you are not an Interior Designer is a non-stop process right? (–,) I strongly believe that each of us was gifted with a kind of unique creativity! I just hope my mom (the owner of our house!) will appreciate them as well! (–,)

A collage card for my favorite tita! <3

A collage card for my favorite tita! ❤

The first quilted bedsheet I've made for myself! I sew them by hand and not by a sewing machine!

The first quilted bedsheet I’ve made for myself! I sew them by hand and not by a sewing machine!

I made a little business out of my quilts and made sure to always give it a personal touch. This one I lovingly crafted for my bestfriend Ruby! (--,)

I made a little business out of my quilts and made sure to always give it a personal touch. This one I lovingly crafted for my bestfriend Ruby! (–,)

A corner in my bedroom with some vintage stuff!

A corner in my bedroom with some vintage stuff!

The quilted cover for our bread toaster is also handmade by me!

The quilted cover for our bread toaster is also handmade by me!

According to Anne Morrow Lindbergh: "Arranging flowers in the morning ... can give a sense of quiet ... in a crowded day - like writing a poem ... or saying a prayer."

According to Anne Morrow Lindbergh: “Arranging flowers in the morning …
can give a sense of quiet … in a crowded day –
like writing a poem …
or saying a prayer.”

That was the vintage watering can I've mentioned! I so love it! It took me years to acquire it and told the seller to let it go because it has been in their store for years! (--,)

That was the vintage watering can I’ve mentioned! I so love it! It took me years to acquire it and told the seller to let it go because it has been in their store for years! (–,)

And while I was gardening, I found this heart shaped leaf. - "Life (GOD) is full of surprises!"

And while I was gardening, I found this heart shaped leaf. – “Life (GOD) is full of surprises!”

Just one of the photos I got from Pinterest that was really inspiring for me! The power of flowers! (--,)

Just one of the photos I got from Pinterest that was really inspiring for me! The power of flowers! (–,)

More photos to follow! (–,)

2 thoughts on “My own version of Shabby Chic…

  1. I’m writing an article today on making a hobby into a money making passion profession – your art and style – and story were very inspiring to me – thanks for visiting my blog and I can’t wait to peruse your whole site and of course, see more … thanks.

Leave a Reply

