My 3rd stint in Vigan…


When mama asked me to bring her to Vigan. I was wishing that she asked for another place and not in Vigan since I have been there twice already. Since she insisted like a toddler persistent to get her coned ice cream, I gave in to her request setting aside my other priorities. It also served like my post birthday treat for her. Besides, Vigan in reality is so beautiful, you won’t mind revisiting the place in every opportunity.

It's good to be back again!

It’s good to be back again!

It was just an overnight stay. I recently had this self – discovery that I acquired my father’s attitude of being agitated and uncomfortable in leaving the house empty and no one to tend to our pets, we have a dog, 2 cats and a dozen love birds. Though, to enjoy the trip without worries, I made it a point to secure our door locks and bought reliable stuff to reinforce them. It’s better to be safe than sorry.

We left early morning of January 2 and reached Vigan in the afternoon, spent the night in a hotel a few blocks away from the famous and iconic street – Crisologo street. As early as week 1 of December, we were already trying to book ourselves and they’re all occupied. Each and every hotel (specially those that we eyed are all fully-booked!) They claimed that it might slow down come January so we opted to schedule it first week of the first month of 2014. Still, we had a hard time finding a nice hotel to stay. We ended up in a not so cozy place, I can imagine my former boss telling me to always look for the best hotels to stay when traveling. Since I couldn’t postponed it anymore, I’d be back to work in a few days, and as long as it’s clean, the bedsheets are well-pressed, with ACU, and provides crisp towels regardless of its’ thread count. We booked ourselves at Green R Hotel. 

Green R hotel, a budget hotel...

Green R hotel, a budget hotel…

I then brought them to Cafe Leona come dinner time.

Mama and his younger brother, Father Noel..

Mama and his younger brother, Father Noel..

Mama at Cafe Leona..

Mama at Cafe Leona..

I had them tried the famous bagnet ( Ilocanos roast pork), their version of pancit bijon, we also had Sashimi as chosen by my uncle and hot choco. It was good to have a priest with you the whole time. We say our prayers each meal. Something we missed to practice at home unless my son, Echo is dining with us. He is so strict and won’t allow us to start eating not unless he’s done with his thanksgiving prayer.

I noticed everyone were tired so we headed back to the hotel. When mama and my uncle were sleeping already. My friend and I with our itching feet sneaked out to explore the place once more. Not wanting to wait for the next day. We just wanted to witness how nightlife is like in Vigan specifically in Crisologo street. We took photos of all the lights we could see. I took reflections too for my souls sister to see, it is one of her favorite subject.

Reflections for soul buddy..

Reflections for soul buddy..

We captured the different lights from the municipal hall’s posts that changes it’s color every minute or so. I only saw something like this in Singapore, in Manila and in one building in Ortigas. Of course I loved purple most!

Yellow!

Vigan – Ilocos Sur

IMG-20140102-00526

Yellow!

Green!

Green!

Violet!

Violet!

It's still Christmas in Vigan!

It’s still Christmas in Vigan!

I just like the man's shadow here..

I just like the man’s shadow here..

Taking photos made us hungry and cold. It was 19 degrees in Vigan at that time, we got used to 26. We ended up having Mexican food at Cafe Uno.

Grandpa's inn..

Cafe Uno..

Reminded me of Joaquin's in Tagaytay..

Reminded me of Joaquin’s in Tagaytay..

The first time I dined here was 4 years ago and it felt the same.

My first visit in Vigan..

My first visit in Vigan..

It’s a bit colder during that particular evening and sipping coffee at Cafe Uno was never better.

That thing on that spoon is a kind of native sweetener?

That thing on that spoon is a kind of native sweetener?

We walked around trying to find a 7-11 store to buy some stuff and ended up hiring a tricycle whom we asked to wait so we won’t hire another to bring us back to the hotel. Only to find out that the hotel is just across 7 11. Oh well! I found this window special too..

This window took my attention..

This window took my attention..

The following day was shopping day and taking pictures.

Cafe Uno is the coffee shop of Grandpa’s Inn. While Cafe Felicitas is their restaurant. Both places is equally themed, lots of vintage items can be seen and are interesting subjects from a photographer’s eye..

Cafe Uno..

Cafe Uno..

After breakfast at Cafe Felicitas. We had their famous longganiza with egg and tomatoes and garlic rice.

Cusina Felicitas..

Cusina Felicitas..

I spotted a trip advisor sticker at Kusina Felicitas..

I spotted a trip advisor sticker at Cusina Felicitas..

A painting of the famous heritage site..

A painting of the famous heritage site..

Vintage phones..

Vintage phones..

Honestly..it felt creepy..

Honestly..it felt creepy..

Proofs of Spanish colonization in the Philippines..

Proofs of Spanish colonization in the Philippines..

Lampara..

Lampara..

Chalk menu board..

Chalk menu board..

Had been one of my favorite subjects..door knocker..

Had been one of my favorite subjects..door knocker..

Framed Filipiniana costume..

Framed Filipiniana costume..

We hurriedly proceed to Crisologo street, took pictures of the famous heritage site. In all angles.

Island souvenirs...

Island souvenirs…

The siblings..2 of 10..

The siblings..2 of 10..

Fans!

Fans!

Awww..Sis, where do you wanna shop?

Awww..Sis, where do you wanna shop?

Tired?

Tired?

Eyeing some souvenirs!

Eyeing some souvenirs!

Uncle told me that this street is akin to some streets in Italy.

The famous street with a "caritela" (horse-drawn carriage) passing by..

The famous street with a “caritela” (horse-drawn carriage) passing by..

I took this..

I took this..

I actually searched for the street signage..

I actually searched for the street signage..

T'was like this a few years ago..

T’was like this a few years ago..

T'was different a few years ago..

I had this same angle before..=)

Souvenir shop!

Souvenir shop!

Had several shirts from Islands souvenirs (Vigan, Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, etc.)

Had several shirts from Islands souvenirs (Vigan, Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, etc.)

Souvenir from coconut husk..
Souvenir from coconut husk..
Out of Sinamay..

Out of Sinamay..

Preserved in time..

Preserved in time..

I specially like the smooching figurine!

I specially like the smooching figurine!

The street can never be empty..lots of visitors at that time..

The street can never be empty..lots of visitors at that time..

It looked like it rained right? It did not. They just showered the street to keep it's cleanliness..

It looked like it rained right? It did not. They just showered the street to keep it’s cleanliness..

Yey!

Yey!

I was like a kid in the street. I had my taho.

Manong isn't in the picture as he is busy counting his money, I asked how much is his quota? He said it's around P2,500-3,000. And it's only past 9am at that time.

Manong isn’t in the picture as he is busy counting his money, I asked how much is his quota? He said it’s around P2,500-3,000. And it’s only past 9am at that time.

I also had my DIC.

DIC!

DIC!

Manong, say cheese!

Manong, say cheese!

Yum yum yum!

Yum yum yum!

We bought shirts for mama and my son, for my friends’ friends. Uncle bought some stuff for the kitchen from one of the souvenir shops that I guess have been there for the longest time. Mama bought fruits (fruits?), yes fruits from an old lady, she just wanted to help the old lady. She even wanted to get everything that the old lady was selling if I hadn’t apprehend her. She bought raw bagnet and longganiza.

I specially liked the horse shoe..

I specially liked the horse shoe..and the colored purple cab..

Horse shoe for good luck!

Horse shoe for good luck!

Old discarded shoes..

Old discarded shoes..

Wooden chair accentuated by a cartwheel..

Wooden chair accentuated by a cartwheel..

Can't get enough of me pix..=p

Can’t get enough of me pix..=p

My favorite shot..

My favorite shot..

We dropped by shortly at the zoo. Jen tried the “empanada”.

Empanada!

Empanada!

Is this a colt or a filly?

Is this a colt or a filly?

It was meant for kids so we left right away.

We visited the “Pagburnayan”,

Streetsigns..=)

Streetsigns..=)

Pagburnayan!

Pagburnayan!

where a demonstration of how to create those clay pots is ongoing.

Pot making demo..

Pot making demo..

He enumerated the procedure..

He enumerated the procedure..

It was so interesting (reminds me of the movie: “Ghost”) messy but lovely. The guy doing it is also silly and full of jokes, he was very entertaining and he makes sure that the show is not just on him, it was interactive. I couldn’t get tired watching him as he plays with the clays.

I actually wanna try it!

I actually wanna try it!

After that, I found this very pretty hat in pink. And then I saw one of the same kind, this time in teal. I loved both instantly!

Pink!

Pink!

Aaaaw I met her again! (--,)

Aaaaw I met her again! (–,)

I wish to take them home!

I wish to take them home!

I read from an article that claypot making industry is dying, as the market is switching to plastic-made pots..=(

I read from an article that claypot making industry is dying, as the market is switching to plastic-made pots..=(

Lots lots of jars!

Lots lots of jars!

I noticed every time I travel, I encounter names close to my heart, like God's way to remind me of these people..

I noticed every time I travel, I encounter names close to my heart, like God’s way to remind me of these people..

Pots neatly arranged..

Pots neatly arranged..

Beach?

Beach? (–,)

On our way home, just as we passed by the Arch of Agoo, it’s not Agu (like I first read it), it’s Ago-o! Mama sighted these giant black tigers

Wow!

Black tigers!

And there’s no way I can’t stop her, as they’re my favorite too! 6 pieces of those shrimps is 1 kilo already, they must be really big! Mama got crabs too..

On our way home sweet home..(--,)

On our way home sweet home..(–,)

I guess she went home with a smile on her face. That trip is actually dedicated to her. I just hope she was happy, if she is, I’d be happy as well. I am grateful for his younger brother to accompany us. It was a very special trip particularly for my mom. My son didn’t go with us, since her other grandma is in the hospital. I need him more to be there. I’ve always knew that there’ll be more next times to tag him, hopefully with his 2 grandmas in a single trip. It’d be really fun for all of us.

So long Vigan. With pride – I’m glad to see you unchanging! (–,)

3 thoughts on “My 3rd stint in Vigan…

  1. this is so nice beaut. the last time i was in vigan was when i was pregnant with ruej. and that seemed like a thousand years ago. hopefully someday soonest, i’ll be able to visit again. will you join me? 😀

Leave a Reply

