What’s With Murals? (–,)


Time and again, we’ve been often surprised by unexpected discoveries. As I am working on a big framed vintage world map that I’m about to mount on my bedroom wall as headboard. It brought me to the realization that I was inspired to do it due to the whims I’ve come across with from several adventures.

I am speaking of the beauty of a mural. During college, we were taught of the difference between a mural and a graffiti. What a Trompe – loil is and all those far-off terms that only Fine Arts students are familiar with. Just like with Doctors, Lawyers, Engineers, Chefs, Psychologists, etc. Even celebrities have their own jargon. Each discipline has a vast frontier of terms being used by each that might be unknown to another.

Unless of course, if a person is well read or well-traveled. He/ She is well-informed and must have encountered such words in one occasion or another. Then they can define it profoundly. It just all boils down that we all take pride that we will often be associated with what our turf and fervor is.

As a Fine Arts student, I’ve been artsy ever since and most probably the reason why I ended up taking it in college. I’ve always been fascinated with this particular world like owning it and referring to it like an inherent dynasty.

The biggest influence to that move is perhaps my father who exposed me to the Arts, he was an Illustrator and had been reputed during his generation. I grew up witnessing his paintings on our walls, Art books, subscription to International magazines which wired me to fall in love with reading. I am so grateful to my father. If not for him, I would not have such appreciation.

As a child, I would watch him for hours while he is on his drawing board. Auspiciously, I also was exposed to an uncle who was a painter, and his Art room is still crystal clear in my mind. I secretly wish I would have my own Art room one day. I owe him my interest in Arts too.

There are actually a lot of splendid thought if you think of Arts. Some of which are as follows (I am pretty sure, you’ve encountered them already):

*Origami – is a Japanese art of folding papers

*Pointillism – A technique where the painter uses small dots in various color to  create an image

*Prestezza – At first the artist applied a brown undercoat, using a color that was used for etching technology on the canvas. Thereafter he made a rough drawing using white color, very often like a sketch. Then the actual painting process started

(courtesy of: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prestezza)

*Ikebana – Japanese art of arranging flowers

*Renaissance Art – is the painting, sculpture and decorative arts of that period of European history, emerging as a distinct style in Italy in about 1400, in parallel with developments which occurred in philosophy, literature, music and Science.

(courtesy of: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renaissance_art)

*Alivar Furniture – a collection of furniture and accessories designed by the contemporary masters

*Fretwork – a form of art which pattern is usually geometric in design

I am focusing now with murals. Looking at them, I later learned that there’s more to them than meets the eye. They go beyond our inner self like a window encompassing our soul. Below I personally encountered and admired:

1. Scarsdale

Very simple, yet very attractive!

Very simple, yet very attractive!

2. Bistro de’ Vert by Chef Sau

Had a hard time finding this, thanks to my bff, we found it! yey!

Had a hard time finding this, thanks to my bff, we found it! yey!

3. Resorts world

Resort's World Manila - Nicolas Cage is one of my favorite actors (Leaving Las Vegas, Con-air, Face-off, City of Angels are some of the films I learned to love..)

Resort’s World Manila – Nicolas Cage is one of my favorite actors (Leaving Las Vegas, Con-air, Face-off, City of Angels are some of the films I learned to love..)

4. Bonna coffee

Bonna coffee in Alabang..

Bonna coffee in Alabang..

5. Mile-hi Baguio

Mile-hi cafe in Baguio...

Mile-hi cafe in Baguio…

6. Serenity Place

One of the biggest I've seen!

One of the biggest I’ve seen!

7. A certain coffee shop in San Pedro, Laguna

I'm not looking! ehehe!

I’m not looking! ehehe!

8. Cafe 101 Gensan City

Cafe 101 - General Santos City

Cafe 101 – General Santos City

 9. A Diner in Singapore

A cute diner where we had our breakfast..

A cute diner where we had our breakfast..

10. Starbuck’s branch in Teachers Village

Starbucks in Teachers Village (Courtesy of https://www.facebook.com/StarbucksPhilippines/photos_albums)

Starbucks in Teachers Village (Courtesy of https://www.facebook.com/StarbucksPhilippines/photos_albums)

11. Project Pie

They seem to love most of Eleanor Roosevelt's quotable quotes..

They seem to love most of Eleanor Roosevelt’s quotable quotes..

Project pie..

Project pie..

This whole wall of a nice mural is somewhere in Makati.. the Central business district of the Philippines..

This whole wall of a nice mural is somewhere in Makati.. the Central business district of the Philippines..

Soon, If I have the chance, there are restaurants in New York (Café des Artistes & Monkey Bar in Hotel Elysee) and a Mexican Restaurant in Germany, The parish of “St. Joseph the Worker” in Bacolod,  and of course the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City. An addition to my Bucket list. Who says it’s wrong to dream this BIG? Wouldn’t you? (–,) Happy reading! ❤

ps

Actually, with Murals, the list is endless. (–,) Any recommendations? =)

Leave a Reply

