Vieux Chalet…


VIEUX CHALET 

“Memories of childhood were the dreams that stayed with you after you woke.”~Julian Barnes~

Finally I get to see in person this beautiful place I have been eyeing for the longest time. And it’s just here in the Philippines.

Finally!(--,)

Finally!(–,)

I've seen this chef from a lot of blogs, he is so famous! <3

I’ve seen this chef from a lot of blogs, he is so famous! ❤

Go down and you'll find the swimming pool and the lovely rooms...

Go down and you’ll find the swimming pool and the lovely rooms…

I felt it! <3

I felt it! ❤

It was a long trip than usual to get to Antipolo. Merely, 3 hour drive from my hometown.

Aside from the church that I intend to  visit because we always do when I was a little girl, one that is included in my bucket list is VIEUX CHALET.

A Swiss restaurant owned of course by a Swiss guy who married a Filipina and opted to put this up some 30 years ago. Papu Tony as his grandchildren calls him passed away with a legacy of love seen and felt from every corner of Vieux Chalet.

There's love of Art everywhere..

There’s love of Art everywhere..

And they're loved by Trip advisor too!(--,)

And they’re loved by Trip advisor too! (–,)

Shingled walls are meant for the snow to come down, if it's a no snow country, they're meant to adorn a plain wall..

Shingled walls are meant for the snow to come down, if it’s a no snow country, they’re meant to adorn a plain wall..

Tucked at a small village with cliffs and upside down winding road, the driver doesn’t even know where it is, thanks to my foodie buddy, she brought a map. We ended up smelling the aroma of something that someone is cooking up. Its’ scent is so flavorful- you would conclude that we are finally there. It’s a special tomato sauce according to the crews when we are already inside the restaurant.

It felt like we were Hansel and Gretel who were steered by the scent of the dish to lure us go near them. And I was right. We were at Vieux Chalet! The place is so quiet, it is sitting peacefully in a corner lot after we passed by several inns and restaurants. There’s a painted patio leading to the entrance, some stairs to get to the dining area itself.

It is not that big. Probably around 6 sets 2 seater tables, 4 of which can be shared by 3. They’re the ones beside the window.

Home is where the heart is...

Home is where the heart is…

Happiness is home-made..

Happiness is home-made..

The other 2 is on the center and a big one that sits 10 persons. A foyer is at the end displaying a number of framed photos which speaks for the old country house.

I visualized the family who dined here! <3

I visualized the family who dined here! ❤

Some plates are printed some are plain..

Some plates are printed some are plain..

They're loaded with memories! <3

They’re loaded with memories! ❤

You will be welcomed by an antique piano with a lot of cute stuff displayed on top of it.

The piano..

The piano..

The wooden tongue and groove floor reminded me of childhood days. The sound of it brought me back to our house when I was 7 years old.

T & G!

T & G!

As I was enjoying the patio, some girls went out of the kitchen where the scent is coming, all smiles and asked if we have a reservation. I immediately mentioned a very accommodating lady named Sally. She was the one I was coordinating with for the past few weeks. We were ushered to the dining area, 3 of them and smiled in synch. We felt very welcomed as if they were expecting us . The chef passes by from time to time and just like the smile that we receive from the others previously, his is as sincere.

This chair is waiting for me! <3

This chair is waiting for me! ❤

And this table! <3

And this table! ❤

Feels like home...

Feels like home…

Now I know why I can't throw away cake trays! <3

Now I know why I can’t throw away cake trays! ❤

Recycled cake trays! <3

Recycled cake trays! ❤

Marian, the girl in polkadots dress, was the one who informed us of that dish that they’re cooking. I can’t forget the scent of it. It was so distinctive.

One waiter asked if we’re here to dine or stay for the night. I returned to them the same smile while speaking that we will just dine and staying for the night will be soon. I reminded him that we will check the rooms after we dine.

Cuties!

Cuties!

A lot of testimonies!

A lot of testimonies!

Knick knacks...

Knick knacks…

Dessert spoon collection - mostly vintage!

Dessert spoon collection – mostly vintage!

Where's the comfort room? Please turn right and another right! (--,)

Where’s the comfort room? Please turn right and another right! (–,)

Their menu was so exciting. We didn’t get the Swiss specialties (reserving it once for our stay) and had pizza and pasta instead.

So lovely!

So lovely!

Can't choose right away! =)

Can’t choose right away! =)

Menu...

Menu…

Pasta please.. Fettuccine Padilla...

Pasta please.. Fettuccine Padilla…

Pizza!

Pizza!

Besides, it has always been our favorite combination. We promised one another that one day  we will both have authentic ones from Italy. That might take loooong to save for it though we intend to try.

When our food were served. The scent was ambrosial. And when we tasted it. I could not find the right words to describe it. Just heavenly. They literally made me forget everything.

Pizza Napoli...

Pizza Napoli…

The owners daughter took culinary arts yet he was able to retain the goodness of home made food. The legacy of Papu Tony. It tasted so personal. Like the ones you will cook and serve for a loved one.

As we were verbally expressing its’ goodness, we saw them smiling as if they have seen the same scene time and again.  The other tables have reserved signages signaling that its going to be a busy weekend.

(--,)

(–,)

Our fettuccine came with home made smoked ham which softness is just right, very tasteful and blended well with the 2 kinds of mushrooms included. One is shiitake and the other one i forgot the name. The sauce is creamed lightly and might have include the tomata sauce they were cooking up wen we came. And then to complete it, some ricotta cheese.

Fettuccine Padilla...

Fettuccine Padilla…

Our pizza is not that thin nor that thick. It is just right. It was loaded with mozzarella cheese, fresh tomatoes and garlic. Like our pasta it has been at par with the best pizzas we have ever tasted. Its’ taste is something like it was lovingly done.

It'll always be my favorite!

It’ll always be my favorite!

Home-made chili sauce!

Home-made chili sauce!

Both pizza and pasta has some parsley that went with it even on our drinks.

Fresh mango juice and home-made iced tea!

Fresh mango juice and home-made iced tea!

I am not so sure if I am just hungry and tired but even the drinks we had (yellow mango juice and home made iced tea) were great for me. They were 5 stars literally. And the service is 6 stars and the ambiance is 6 too.

Healthy drink for us please!

Healthy drink for us please!

One thing is certain. We will come back and waking up, seeing the morning sun under the skies of Antipolo, smelling the scent of home cooked goodness and seeing the table with the breakfast and cheese platter, I already visualized.

Happiness!

Happiness!

There is this room with knick knacks and goodies. They call it Lavender room.

Lover of lavender too..

Lover of lavender too..

Ladder turned shelf...

Ladder turned shelf…

Lavender room.. I guess I'll come up with the same room at home... My sacred place... (--,)

Lavender room.. I guess I’ll come up with the same room at home… My sacred place… (–,)

One of the daughters shared the same love for my favorite color. It inspired me to create one corner at home too.

You wouldn’t believe we forget to check the rooms as planned out of chatting how good our experience have been. We went home with happy tummies and cant wait to spend a day or two with them. See you soon Vieux Chalet.

PS
Antipolo boasts some good places too that we might try soon. We listed a few for the time being:

  • Luljetta’s Hanging Gardens and Spa
  • Crescent Moon Cafe
  • Pinto Art Museum
  • Seven Suites Hotel Observatory
  • Casa Ibiza
  • Hinulugang Taktak falls

Vieux Chalet is located at:

456 Taktak Road, Sitio Sampaguita,

Brgy. Sta. Cruz Antipolo City, 1870

Courtesy of:

http://www.vieuxchaletswissrestaurant.com/

2 thoughts on “Vieux Chalet…

Leave a Reply

