PAUL Boulangerie -A taste of France…


Paul Boulangerie-Modern French

“C’est la vie!”

I opted calling Paul Boulangerie as modern French. I just came from this rustic restaurant in Antipolo, a Swiss restaurant depicting rustic luxe which is still fresh in my mind. Very country and shabby and chic and homey. All the light and relaxing adjectives I can pull up from the dictionary. Now comes Paul Boulangerie, a French restaurant in every essence of the word. Situated in one of the busiest central business district after Makati. BGC (Bonifacio Global City).

Paul...

Paul…

Established more than 200 years ago, was brought to the Philippines a year ago probably because Filipinos are known for being open to new gastronomic adventures and their guts of not being afraid to try new things not to mention the numerous French Nationals that frequents the country, as it is such a good feeling to have a place which will make them feel like they are in their home country.

Very eye-catching even if in many shades of gray.

Very eye-catching even if in many shades of gray.

Depicted more of France...

Depicted more of France…

I'm confused if my subject is that vintage poster or those chandeliers!

I’m confused if my subject is that vintage poster or those chandeliers!

The same feeling of Filipinos abroad being very excited to have found a Filipino restaurant in an area where they are currently located, offering line-ups of specialties they have been craving for a long time which are staple back home. One friend of mine’s business in New Jersey is his Fiipino home-cooked bbqs! And its’ doing well, catered by fellow Filipinos and Americans alike!

Another thing that attracted me to try this French restaurant aside from the fact that I have no way of knowing as to how to pronounce those that I ordered from their menu list is their focus on wellness.

Health is wealth!

Health is wealth!

What I did is I asked the attendant if he knew how to speak French and he was honest enough to admit that he doesn’t know how although all of the staff at Paul were trained to correctly pronounced the food on their menu list. Minus the accent I guess. Eating there reminded me of a French film which I watched for a couple of times because i enjoyed listening to French actors trying to speak the English language.

Here’s some of their offerings:

Smoked salmon..

Smoked salmon..

Yes, loads of mushrooms..

Yes, loads of mushrooms..

With some greens..

With some greens..

Complimentary bread with butter and jam... (--,)

Complimentary bread with butter and jam… (–,)

Coffee flavored eclair..

Coffee flavored eclair..

Another thing again which I found so enticing are the black and white floors.

Black & White! <3

Black & white tiles! ❤

Loved those tiles!

Loved those tiles!

And that chalk written menu board for their

And that chalk written menu board for their “Soup of the day!’

Taking of pictures meant for this blog occurred spontaneously as we are nearing peak time. Still I captured some of their guests.

Peak time..well almost..

Peak time..well almost..

It has been noticeable that most Filipinos would take photos of their food first before eating, which I usually do and I felt like placing a signage on my face that says please don’t mind me, I’m a blogger and taking photos is a normal thing to someone like me. Documentations. I even spotted a blogger where the title that he used was something like taking pictures first before digging in. I am embracing something new now and it excites me!(–,)

Transparency...

Transparency…

There is actually a brief explanation on the menu which translates each into the English language. I am grateful enough and I actually learned a few instantly. “Fume” means “smoke”.

And given that I did not understand a single word from it, (I only knew the usual phrases): “Cest’ la vie”, “Cest’ mignon”, “Merci”, “Bon voyage” and my favorite “Jet’ aime”! =)

There are photos of each and like everyone else, I can instantly identify what I like the moment I see it. The usual “wow” thing that excites us. The giddy expectation and anticipation of realizing that you are happy with what you have ordered. As there are times which I personally experienced is ordering something that I didn’t totally appreciate. Well mistakes are meant to be lessons. Ahaha!

One of the surprises that comes with it is finding out about something that you know a long time ago though you don’t know the term to use for it.

It is also good to know that even if you can hear conversations from the other tables, the clamor itself from their world to yours is entirely different. The privacy is intact.

There's a trompe l'oeil of books! =)

There’s a trompe l’oeil of books! =)

And the chandeliers are impressive..

And the chandeliers are impressive..

I will convince my foodie buddy to go back and devour on the pastries.

I see Macarons! =)

I see Macarons! =)

and

And Millefeuilles!

And eclairs!

And eclairs!

And some of those I haven’t tried yet for another culinary experience! =)

Their sandwiches..

Their sandwiches..

And their quiche..

And their quiche..

I just fell in love again… =)

(--,)

(–,)

Paul is located at the ground floor of Bench tower, Rizal drive, corner 30th Street, Bonifacio Global City. They also have a branch at the ground floor of SM Aura Premier.

Leave a Reply

