Chair as my lair…


Chair as my lair…

We often tend to overlook the substance of most things. While watching “Passions of Christ”, one scene became very memorable to me on top of the film showing the Lord’s sufferings which swollen my eyes the first, second and even the third time that I saw it.

The lighter scene that caught my attention was when Christ demonstrated to His Mother the sole purpose of a chair.

Jesus with His Mother - Mary, telling her about sitting on a chair..=)

Jesus with His Mother – Mary, telling her about sitting on a chair..=)

It was enthralling to me. And as I looked at every chair around me. I kept this admiration of the inventors of the old times of things that are ordinary to us now. And in what way can we ever articulate our gratefulness when they made our lives easier. And what impetus pushed them of these momentous thoughts and transported each to veracity. Things like the telephone, the television, the aircon, the car, airplane, furniture inside the house, the ships, erecting a super mega tall building that would endure the strongest earthquake, the list might be endless.

And in all these inventions, mankind has never curtailed in innovating. Stretching their intellectual muscles to come up with something better, the dire need to enhance, improve, innovate, elevate, for the world’s appreciation and benefit at the same time.

One invention that has a very special meaning to me is the chair. I did not have any appreciation of this item not until I joined an office furniture company 2 decades ago. Being there for almost five years, working directly with the owner who brought brands such as: ICF, Masterpieces from Alivar, Bauhaus collection to mention a few in our country, made me appreciate the wonders of a chair. Its’ rudiments, its’ life, its’ beauty. And its’ purpose to the human race.

And it is not just simply “salumpuwet”, the tagalog term for a support for your precious derriere, but something that is ergonomically designed and will provide the user the kind of comfort our body requires whatever way we want to sit. Be it slouching or crossed legs or prim, chairs were designed to lessen discomfort and make us happy while we are sitting. Isn’t it so boring to be sited the whole time? And something  is twinging somewhere?

Below are some of the chairs I fell in love with:

Courtesy of :

ICF Chair

Courtesy of Designworks..

Courtesy of Designworks..

Humanscale 

Valanz of Merryfair by Espacio Diseño, Inc

Check it out - to see is to believe! =)

Check it out – to see is to believe! =)

Fritz Chair

Courtesy of: Design link

Courtesy of:
Design link

Egg Chair

Daphne’s Chair

Daphne's chair Courtesy of: http://daphne.ph/furniture

Daphne’s chair
Courtesy of:
http://daphne.ph/furniture

Quilted Chair

Source: Pinterest

Source:
Pinterest

Beach Chair

Vanity Chair

Ghost Chair

Our very own – Cobonpue’s The Bloom

Cobonpue is one of the country's pride in the international furniture industry.

Cobonpue is one of the country’s pride in the international furniture industry.

Delphi from Merryfair by Espacio Diseño, Inc.

In my 20 years exposure in the Office furniture industry, I am so in love with this piece...<3

In my almost 20 years exposure in the Office furniture industry, I am so in love with this piece…<3

Intricate details...

Intricate details…

delphi

Delphi is one of my favorites! ❤

After 2 decades, venturing into 2 entirely different industries, my soul sister cum friend cum confidante cum boss re-introduced to me this industry that has always been close to my heart, by welcoming me to join her company that offers office furniture. It felt genuinely good being with the same industry where I started off at the young age of twenty something. It is just worthy to find out that there are still familiar names and well, lots of new names too! My former boss even told me:”Allelee remember during our time, there are only more than 10 competitors that we knew of, now? There are hundreds!” And I just meekly replied that because it is a huge industry. True enough, No office can be put up without the owner providing their people chairs to sit on where they stay longer than the hours they stayed at home. Definitely, the bosses owe us something really comfortable.

You see, there are even songs about chairs! Can you imagine the world without a chair? I can not.

Chairs will always occupy a special place in our homes and in our hearts. In my heart undeniably. (Above and beyond, selling chairs have become my bread and butter for years now..)

As a tribute. I made myself a special chair depicting my own personality. I’d like to believe that the chair has a soul too.. How about you? Are you happy with the one that you’re sitting on now?

I am. (–,)

(--,)

(–,)

Leave a Reply

