CANTINA SICILIANITA – Bringing me near to Italy…


A Taste of Italy in Shaw Boulevard…

My work is located in Shaw Boulevard. For several times, I have dined in this little place called:

Cantina Sicilianita: Coffee Shop · Winery & Vineyard · Italian Restaurant.

Counter...

Counter…

And it never occurred to me or did I think of writing about it during the many times I had my lunch there. Sometimes with my boss, during meeting, most of the times, alone. When my soul buddy isn’t around come lunch time, it has always been my choice to have my lunch as it is so quiet there, my privacy is something I really treasure sometimes, the wonder of solitude and their choices of magazines is another thing I really like. Either Cantina or that pizza spot just right the other block. I normally enjoy my solitary moments sometimes. Not until I read about Chef Marky Buhain.

One article about this restaurant.. There's the Chef on the lower left.  ps He is already taken! =)

One article about this restaurant.. There’s the Chef on the lower left.
ps
He is already taken! =)

This time, my foodie buddy have been itching to visit Cantina. She is Ms. Pasta remember? She drooled each time I tell her how authentic the pastas that Cantina creatively arrange on their huge ceramic plates. Not to forget that she likes the Italian flavor that doesn’t have any hint of sweetness on it. On the other hand, I am so Filipino, siding more the sweetened pasta.

Not to forget mentioning the ricotta cheese, home-made by the Chef. He shared in an article that an old lady, I forgot where exactly in Italy taught her how to make ricotta cheese. And with pride, he willingly brought the recipe back home.

From the outside, I find the facade not that attractive to lure guests to try their offerings. Only their signage, a colorful hand-written circular script logo and yellow texts especially when lighted is just the one that I find amusing.

Upon entrance, two murals of Sicily will welcome you. It gives you the feel of the venerable provinces of Italy.

xici

A glimpse on the chef’s travels.

sicily

Somewhere in Sicily…

With those mosaic tiles on their tables,

Very Italian..

Very Italian..

some chalk written menu situated in a wooden easel,

New offerings...

New offerings…

some reading materials on a corner where a shelf is located, the tiled floors. I definitely felt being transported to somewhere else.

On a corner..

On a corner..

Chands by twos...

Chands by twos…

I must assume Chef Buhain have been all over here...

I must assume Chef Buhain have been all over here…

They’ve got lots of wine.

I don't drink wine...ehehe

I don’t drink wine…ehehe

The place is conversing.

Does it mean a Sicilian girl?

Does it mean a Sicilian girl?

Or much to my surprise, it makes me wish to be able to also see Italy one day in the flesh, better yet, smell the air and taste their authentic pasta or pizza or gelato ala Liz Gilbert (played by Julia roberts) from the movie Eat, pray and love. The place was inspiring.

One visit I recall, the attendants are wearing flower crowns on their hair,

and I am so amazed because I’ve been wanting to wear something like it! It’s just that i do not know what would be the perfect occasion when to be donning it.

During our last visit, the one that they’re just wearing are the sweet smiles on their faces, canned each time a guest enters this very interesting restaurant.

Take your pick!

Take your pick!

Consistently, foodie buddy ordered for pasta.

Pasta Alla Norma...

Pasta Alla Norma…

I’ve tried this before, I especially liked the fried egg plants slices, they’re creamy.

And I’ve had my usual pasta with that meat ball! It’s a must try! =)

Mine!

Mine!

I can’t help but ask which of the menus includes the home made ricotta cheese. For I’d really love to try it. It is the Cannoli. It looked like a “turon” (sweet banana fritters wrapped in spring roll wrappers). Or a rolled ice cream inside your favorite cone wafer, only that it isn’t ice cream inside but ricotta cheese. This kind of cheese is slightly sweet. There’s pistachios too! Yey!

Drinks choices..

Drinks choices..

No dessert? We just had these... Caramel for her, Coke for me! <3

No dessert? We just had these… Caramel for her, Coke for me! ❤

To my foodie buddy:

Have you seen this? (–,)

A big dispenser of caramel and chocolate! Yum! <3

A big dispenser of caramel and chocolate! Yum! ❤

Cantina Sicilianita is located at Unit N, Facilities Center Building, 548 Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong City.
Telephone: 570-2905/ 369 3575
Email address: mark.buhain@sicilianita.com

Leave a Reply

