Our version of EMBOTIDO!


OUR VERSION OF EMBOTIDO

“The best way to cheer yourself up, is to cheer up someone else.” 

Blogging got so addicting to me. I recently post something different. For a change. A Recipe of my late father’s holiday dish. And now I craved to post another. This time. His embotido.

As a child, I have been very observant when my mom and dad is in action in the kitchen. I used to be in-charge to chop the ingredients placing them neatly in my mom’s Tupperware. It has several dividers for you to avoid mixing one ingredient from another. They call it “Lazy Susan”. Both of them are very organized.

Embotido is one dish that requires a lot of chopping. I am a bit amazed as a kid finding out that mixing a lot of different ingredients can result into a dish that tasted heavenly. Especially with steamed rice. I usually pair it with ketchup or sweet and sour sauce. Lots of it. I could not remember a kid that doesn’t like ketchup. And my dad can’t do without a soup to match his embotido. It is either mushroom or corn soup. Sometimes, macaroni soup.

Mama prefers her embotido baked in a tray, she lays it on banana leaf teaching me of its’ purpose. Telling me that it’s better to use banana leaves than using a foil to avoid the carcinogenic blah blah that might cause us to acquire the big C. It is a bit laborious, however, much to my surprise, I loved the scent of it when cooked. It gets more delicious with the aroma of the banana leaf.

Still I prefer the steamed one. Slicing it carefully into rounds and neatly arranging them on a plate. It is better to serve it cool. You can chill it for a few minutes, and easier to slice too and less messy. My dad would always remind me to slice them when it’s already cool. Because they will no longer fall off and my embotido rounds will be perfect. He was actually right.

Here’s our version of embotido:

INGREDIENTS:
-1 kg of ground pork
-1 big carrots (minced)
-1 big bell pepper (minced)
-2 mini box of Sunmaid raisins
-salt n pepper to taste
-1 cup of pickle relish
-5 slices of cheese (grated or minced will do)
-2 tbsp of chopped celery leaves
-12 pcs of eggs (beaten)
-2 soft loaves of bread(minced) note: you can add more if the mixture is still saucy, this extender will hold the mixture
-plastics used for ice
-foil

PROCEDURE:

-just mix everything with the beaten eggs
-place enough quantity to fill one plastic for ice, lock it
-secure with a foil and twist both ends to lock it
-repeat
-usual yield: 5 big rolls
-boil 1 liter of water (drizzle it with a magic sarap) this was my moms’ idea for creating aroma and makes it taste better
-steam the rolls
-let it cook for 15 minutes and pierce a small part from time to time so the heat will reach the roll evenly
-you can check if it’s already cooked when upon piercing the egg, they’re no longer seen on your fork
-when cooked, let them cool before slicing
-slice and arrange on a plate

=)

=)

My embotido..=)

My embotido..=)

voila!

voila!

It is best paired with catsup or sweet and sour sauce.

Happy eating!(–,)

Leave a Reply

