Duck & Buvette… An authentic French Saveur…


Duck & Buvette.. An authentic French Saveur…

Is she the Chef? =)

Is she the Chef? =)

I was a bit skeptical stopping by at Duck & Buvette. Besides, I was eyeing to stop by one of those ritzier restaurants on the other wing of Shangri-la mall.

But the aroma of brewed coffee enticed me and I sit pronto at the nearest available seats instead.

The attendants with their invariable smiles, are keen enough in bringing you their menu.

Drinks and main..

Drinks and main..

I requested for the cold brew iced coffee while simultaneously scrutinizing info bits about their coffee. Which brought me to that vitrine.

My iced coffee..

My iced coffee..

intelligentsia

Intelligentsia from Chicago..

glass display

Tough choices..

I got that easy apple cake with lots of walnuts. I’m pretty sure it matches my cafe latte.

Walnut and apple cake...

Walnut and apple cake…

The profile of their coffee is strong for me but it has a unique gusto, something I haven’t encounter for a long time. Still, I requested for a simple syrup to trim the robust in every sip.

Syrup please..=)

Syrup please..=)

And I found a non-chicken dish that suits me: 8 hour Angus briskets. The description is that it’s a slow roasted “melt in your mouth” black Angus beef served with roast garlic rice and roasted mushroom sauce.

Literally melts in your mouth..

Literally melts in your mouth..

cubiertos

Fight! ehehe

condiments

My son would really love this condiment.. I am with the chili powder..

 

I thought of something for my mom and my son, a sourdough pizza topped with fennel sausage and crispy pepperoni.

An all-time favorite..

An all-time favorite..

It was indeed an artisanal pizza.

In my humble opinion, I got qualms because a few guests were present when I came. They looked like aristocrats all the while attendants are taking turns pouring wine in their Bordeaux glass.

I chose al fresco, but the inside is more intimate I guess..

I chose al fresco, but the inside is more intimate I guess..

I am grateful they have coffee since I am not a wine drinker. Be it red or white, I’d still prefer having coffee or smoothies of fresh fruits.

Their coffee by the way is from Intelligentsia. That it originated from Chicago. And that Intelligentsia coffee per my research and curious questions, is one of the biggest coffee roasting company that represents the “third wave coffee”. They are from better (best) produce and are curated in a special and distinct process which makes it an artisanal delight. Oh, I can now taste (and smell) the difference. =)

I can’t help but confirm from them that If I remember it right, something else is here years ago, and they happily told me that this is formerly Cafe Provencal, same owner, same staff, everything same, only better, I told him that it was good and that it is rightfully necessary to innovate. Always. That we can never allow ourselves to be stagnant for a looong time. It’s just cool to reinvent from time to time.

I think I’m bringing my friends here. =) And I know what to get as well on my next visit. =)

It is located at the 2nd floor of Shangri-la Plaza’s main wing (just across the elevators), EDSA Corner Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong, 1550. You can make reservations too. Just give them a call at: 631 0675.
Leave a Reply

