What’s with COASTERS?


What’s with Coasters? 

“Realize deeply that the present moment is all you ever have.”
~eckhart tolle~

At a time when I see tables in veneer or solid wood everywhere. Our house then, all tables of which are in glass tops instead. It was specifically chosen by my father.

He was also very particular that it must be clean and preferably shining all the time. We always have a supply of Pledge. He wants to make sure that they are clean, dust-free and glossy.

It is also his rule that guests if offered a drink must be provided with coasters. We have all kinds. Glass, wood, cork board, laminated sheets, etc.

My father was the most influential person in all of my life. Ironically, we used to argue most of the times. I see myself in my son, as we also quarrel and argue a lot over petty things more than the more important things that matters which I guess is worthier.

This training from my dad is where my fond of collecting coasters began.

While I was still young and adventurous and fearless. I would dare asking from restaurants if I can bring home one of their coasters as souvenirs.

I remember that Italliani even offerred something to us since our order took more than the usual waiting time before they were served. The Manager was very apologetic and asked if we want something else from their menu for free, but we declined since we appreciated their humility enough that we let it pass when others might take advantage and grab the offer.

As the Manager was about to leave our table, I saw an opportunity. I called her back with the sweetest smile that I could give her, I requested from her if I can just have one of their coasters as a souvenir. =) And without batting an eyelash, she gladly offered me one. I was so happy then.

I got this. I intentionally requested for this since I am also collecting Coke souvenirs..

I got this. I intentionally requested for this since I am also collecting Coke souvenirs..

During my travels, I make sure I bought coasters if I find one. I got a set from a Designer turned full-time housewife in Tacloban but since her artistic side is something she can’t sacrifice on top of being a wife. She put up a business. A souvenir shop where all items came from her numerous travels too, and that is where I got those shabby chic coasters which I instantly eyed from her collection.

Shabby chic..

Shabby chic..

One Christmas, I even bought dozens of it from Starbucks and gave them as Christmas gifts to my office mates.

Then I wished for a wooden type with a peacock engraved on it, however, the price of it is shocking. One weekend, my foodie travel buddy surprised me with a “no occasion” gift and its a coaster! Wooden and engraved with a peacock! This soul mastered the art of pleasing me all the time. I was so grateful.

Peacock!=)

Peacock!=)

I find them very stylish as well.

pink

This one I often use everyday because of its’ depth..

My house is not the Zen type “less is more” type of dwelling. It now looked like a gypsy’s abode with all the trinkets and knick knacks and decorative pieces, souvenirs from my travels scattered all around. Though I make sure they’re not an eyesore yet as my mom will really reprimand me about it. As when you get to see our home, they’re just full of colors. All of it, vivid. I am bored with white or anything monotonous. I want happy colors and so is my house.

Passion comes close in sacrificing sometimes., since I am collecting coasters for years. I saw one of the most unique coasters. It has a very simple design as oppose to my usual selection like floral, shabby, full of colors and the like. And they are very expensive too. I immediately bought them before I come back to my senses. For a change I got stripes in black and white. Very “Kate Spade” kind of design. And literally those coasters are from Kate Spade.

Gave in to this..

Gave in to this..

Of course, I’ve got a set that’s Shabby chic too, it came with a case.

Total of 6..

Total of 6..

This one came from my son as a gift..

This one came from my son as a gift..

c6

Very simple..

c7

Souvenir from my son’s prom..

c5

This one is made of ceramic, it used to be gilded on the edges, they were erased by time.. #wearandtear

c2

Freebies..

From Bubba gump..=)

From Bubba gump..=)

I plan to make my own soon, a quilted one. A lot I’ve seen which instantly inspired me. =)

FGT-CC-D-CrissCrossCoasters

Courtesy of: criss cross http://www.sleepingbearcrafts.com

Quilted-Coasters

Courtesy of: gedcarpizo.com

Like some who collects like the sky is the limit. I am the other way around. Its not like “I can’t get enough” thing. There’s a moment when it felt like “Okay this is enough”. And I’m happy about it. Besides it is not just coasters that I collect.

Getting strained from life’s realities, collecting some of the stuff I am fascinated about gives me an uplifting feeling especially upon seeing them surrounding me. In my bedroom, in our living room, dining room even in our bathroom. It uplifts me from within. It is very important that I follow what my heart and soul is dictating me. Otherwise, I will be very bored.

As Kurt Vonnegut said: “Enjoy the little things in life because one day you`ll look back and realize they were the big things.”

Leave a Reply

