NO to Parvo virus!!!


NO to Parvo virus…

“Not every person knows how to love a dog, but every dog knows how to love a person.”

I have a dozen pets. 1 dog and eleven cats. Four of which are still kittens.

When my uncle priest offered me to adopt one of his puppies. A female half-breed Labrador (domestic mom and Lab dad).

I even took an on-line survey from my friends If I am going to accept this little frolicsome cutie.

Secretly, I was already thinking of what to name her. And then finally, with the push and encouragement of my circle, she was brought to me a few days after I told my uncle priest that I am finally accepting the offer.

I instantly love her. She is sweet, very playful, typical nature of a female puppy. More so, she was taken cared of by a priest. She is gentle and good-hearted too. I have a feeling she will never bite anyone, because Whitey, my only male dog, came from my uncle priest too. In his entire life (11 years & counting), he had never bitten anyone. Though of course, I have to train Kimmy too.

The house was a happier place when Kimmy arrived. Typically not for the clowder of cats. But with us humans. Even my mom is so fond of Kimmy.

She's into this habit of watching me while I'm working..

She’s into this habit of watching me while I’m working..

But the day after that devastating night for me. It was when I lost one of my cats, and I was sobbing the whole night and the whole day after that. I noticed that Kimmy looked sad too. She’s just staring at me each time I call her name. My only consolation is when she still wags her tail.

I was still in coma if I can call it that way because losing one of my cats is definitely one of the saddest thing that could happen to me. I am seeing a depression coming out of it because apparently she was gone while I was away (and tears are flowing from my eyes now as I’m writing this)..=(

The following day. Kimmy was lethargic. She is not eating anything that we gave her. She drinks a few. But to no avail. She vomits. Just by looking at her, it was no longer a sadness because she felt I am sad too. My Kimmy is sick.

When she moved for a few more times and they looked different and smells different too. We panicked and brought her immediately to the nearest clinic.

Then after a few tests. She was found to be positive with Parvo virus.

Positive-Parvo virus...

Positive-Parvo virus…

The Veterinarian recommended that she should be confined. And I asked if I can take care of her at home provided that the medicines are religiously administered.

However, the Doctor told me transparently that since frequent vomiting is expected. It would be best that she be given dextrose intravenously so as to avoid dehydration as it would be fatal.

With a broken heart, I willfully gave in to their suggestion knowing that visits are limited and Kimmy will not see us most of the day and will be with other dogs who are sick too. I am sure it’d be very frustrating for her.

k4

Aaawww! =(

k3

The Siberian husky beside her is with Parvo virus too. And survived. =)

The good thing there is I can visit her after work. I was allowed to visit 6pm onwards even if the policy is only until 5pm.

For the first few days, she was not showing signs of improvement. She still has diarrhea, she still vomits and she looks sad still during my visits.

Please get well soon Kimmy!

Please get well soon Kimmy!

I prayed every night, every day that she get well. I felt so responsible. I adopted her and gave assurance to my uncle priest to take care of her same way he takes care of her.

While at work, and I could not visit, I call and asked for updates from the care takers.

What’s torturing me is talking to other owners of other patients and some of my friends that theirs didn’t survive when attacked by this sinister virus. Although there are also stories that their dogs survived, but, most of them are adult canine already. I googled the virus, and only 30% is the rate of survival. I was so afraid then. All I could do is pray and pray and visit Kimmy more often. The doctor said that it helps a lot when she will see me a lot. They said it gives them hope that she will soon go home and that makes them happy. And it will help them recover sooner. When I can’t, my son takes turn to visit him, with my husband and my friend, Jen. So they give me updates too.

On the 4th day, I received a text message from them that Kimmy had her first recovery food and didn’t vomit a few hours after and that it’s a good sign. If it continues, she is into recovery soon.

Prayers move mountains. I kept thanking God for her because I could not afford another loss, I just lost my cat and over it is Kimmy getting sick.

On the 5th day of my visit. Her aura is very different. She is thumping from her cage and even if with the dextrose, she attempted to run to me and her tail is wagging non-stop. I was so happy. I almost cried.

k7

I can feel her telling me: “Get me out of here mommy!”

k8

It broke my heart to see her grew thin.

On the 7th day, I got a call from them that Kimmy is ready to go home with medications for another 2 weeks. I can’t wait to bring her home.

My mom was also impatient upon Kimmy’s return. She keeps on asking “Where’s Kimmy?” And when Kimmy’s finally arrived at home, she’s ecstatic, she’s so happy running all around the house. She is not allowed inside my room more so to step on my bed but at that time she jumped at me, I can’t help but just hug her and play with her.

I love her so..<3 <3 <3

I love her so..

She just turned 3 months so she had her first bath after a week. And she loves it. She’s agonized at first, but as I gently spray water to her body avoiding her eyes, she seem to enjoy the water.

In a few days, she is scheduled for her 5 in 1 vaccination.

She's back to normal. She would wait for me patiently. Wherever I go, she would follow me.

She’s back to normal. She would wait for me patiently. Wherever I go, she would follow me.

God is so good, He takes care of them too! =)

kimmy ko

My happy Kimmy! (–,)

How Can Parvo virus Be Prevented?

You can protect your dog from this potential killer by making sure he’s up-to-date on his vaccinations. Parvovirus should be considered a core vaccine for all puppies and adult dogs. It is usually recommended that puppies be vaccinated with combination vaccines that take into account the risk factors for exposure to various diseases. One common vaccine, called a “5-in-1,” protects the puppy from distemper, hepatitis, leptospirosis, parvovirus and parainfluenza.

Courtesy of: http://pets.webmd.com/dogs/parvo-parvovirus-dogs

Leave a Reply

