Exploring PLANET GRAPES!


Exploring PLANET GRAPES! 

When I first found out that Festival Mall came up with some expansion, the block fronting the east became a concert ground. They call it “River park”. One block is occupied by a few restaurants, the first of which to open is Starbucks on its’ very corner facing Festival mall. Then another one opened, and another, and another.

I’ve tried Mati’s with Jen. And Hog’s Breath Cafe. Secretly, I want to spend a day just to try them all. And then not affording it, I’ll just do it one by one.

I first tried “Planet Grapes”. It was puzzling to me where did they get its’ name: Planet Grapes. I initially thought of Planet Apes or is it themed like a “Congro grill” in the making, when it isn’t Apes but Grapes. Ahaha

Prints on glass..

Prints on glass..

So, upon entrance, It was now crystal clear to me. It is because their specialty are wines. One of the attendants told me that Planet Grapes is owned by that brilliant guy behind the conception of “Healthy Options” without telling me the name.

(--,)

(–,)

The place is so posh. I loved their table-setting instantly. I loved the furniture and the lighting fixtures.

Classic.. Black and white..

Classic.. Black and white..

I so loved this!

I so loved this!

Napkin holder were made of corks...=)

Napkin holder were made of corks…=)

I actually got scared if I can afford what’s in their menu.

menu

Time to choose..=)

I immediately informed the attendant assisting me that I am not a wine drinker. I just want to try their food. I asked if there are other “Healthy options” and they offered me a bottled orange juice imported from the US.

orange

It has pulp bits! =)

So I took two local signatures. Beef tenderloin tapa and all natural grilled pork chop with adobo rice.

=)

=)

menu 2

Planet Grapes… brilliant idea…

pork chop

My all natural grilled pork chop..

Adobo rice..

Adobo rice..

Beef tapa..

Beef tapa..

I could not say anything but delicious and tenderness. This is both for the tapa and pork chop.

The flavor is just right and not too salty. Even the buttered veggies. But if you want to season it more with saltiness, there is a few pinch of kosher salt on your tray.

Kosher salt..

Kosher salt..

For my dessert, I requested for the suman (rice cake) with latik (a curd made from coconut milk). I liked the latik a lot, very similar to the latik my mom used to cook when I was a kid.

dessert

Suman and latik..

How I wish I have paired my viands with one of their best-selling wines, just like what the attendants are recommending. I was just transparent enough to admit to them that I am not into drinking wines.

Upstairs..

Cellar Upstairs..

Noticed their lighting fixtures? They're made of used wine bottles..=)

Noticed their lighting fixtures? They’re made of used wine bottles..=)

Soon, I might just bring some friends who does. =)

Planet Grapes is located at level 1 Unit D River Park, Festival Supermall, Alabang, Muntinlupa, 1781 Metro Manila. You can contact them at:(02)831 9438. They are open daily:

Sun-Thurs 11:00am-11:00pm
Fri-Sat 11:00am-12:00am

Other branches include: Cebu, BGC Taguig City and Shangri-la Mall, Mandaluyong City

Courtesy of: http://planetgrapes.com.ph/

 

 

Leave a Reply

