Cafe Alezon – Keeping on the quest for the best


Cafe Alezon – Keeping on the quest for the best…

“A recipe has no soul. You as the cook must bring soul to the recipe.”
~thomas keller~

<And I think, that place, wherever it is, must possess a soul too>.

For the foodies in us, it is more often that we tend to compare one preparation from another. The way it is presented. Its’ taste. And of course its’ impact on our budget.

In our search for a nachos salad that will excite us in a different way as we’ve tried more than a dozen. We ended up in this secluded Mediterranean themed restaurant in BF Paranaque. It still is a part of the Food Mecca which BF Paranaque is known for. It has been part of my bucket list for places loved by foodies. It is located at the farther part of BF Homes which connects to the other side of Las Pinas.

I actually wonder who started the progression of numerous queue of restaurants where guests couldn’t figure out who has the edge over the other. And they have it all. Pastry shops, American, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, Filipino, Coffee shops, name it. Believe me I couldn’t count them no more.

Honestly Cafe Alezon is enticing, not only because of that huge mural of one of my favorite artist from Mexico – Frida Kahlo. Which for me took center stage. While I am not the first one to blog about Cafe Alezon. Thanks to these bloggers who lead me to discover one such quaint place that offers delicious cuisine.

There she is.

There she is.

Most of those I’ve read were from artists (and foodies) like me. And it’s a colleague from Machuca tiles who encouraged me to visit and personally check their tiles at Cafe Alezon. So the reason why I need to go out of my way to go farther beyond Aguirre street is not only to satiate my tummy but to appreciate the decorative tiles (and the interiors itself, as a whole) which is all over the place and you can spot them even on their tables. If I didn’t mention in the past, I have once fallen in love with anything that’s black and white too. Floorings included. =)

Those tiles are mesmerizing..

Those tiles are mesmerizing..

I must say that it was kinda tiring to reach the place by commuting. It’s just worth it when we arrived and the neon signage of all their best sellers welcomed us.

c1

Their facade is a head-turner..


c2

Interesting! =)

While waiting for our food, we were thrilled to take some photos to our hearts’ content. I must admit that I am so enthralled in seeing in actual this place that is loved by so many. Originally, my friend is  most proud to boast the one that they installed at Antonio’s in Tagaytay and I’ve been keeping it in my list for years now. Though, for now, Cafe Alezon is the one near at hand.

c6

Festive colors.. and intricacy..


c4

This door leads to the bigger dining area..


Dining table with the Machuka tiles...=)

Dining table with the Machuka tiles…=)


c5

And you will be welcomed by that smile upon entry..


c9

I had to capture the books so you’ll see how big these cups are like..


c7

Vintage stuff..


c8

Magical stuff..

So what we’ve had is of course their Nachos Y Salsa.

Delicious!

Delicious!

The attendant offered this sauce to us and I forgot to ask if its strong and it was.

Philippine-made..

Philippine-made..

Then, we also tried the Cookie shot. It is something worth a second or even a third try. And it is new to me.

c17

I guess I can consume three (or more) of this..

The Turon are with sweetened lanca which served as our dessert though this is something we can always prepare at home. It is nothing extra-ordinary like the one I’ve tried at Kanin club.

A staple dessert in the Philippines..

A staple dessert in the Philippines..

For our drinks, we tried their brewed and Turkish coffee, another take of the third wave coffee beans.

(--,)

(–,)

The ambiance of the place has its’ old feel and gives the impression of the owner to be a lover of art, probably a coffee lover too and a frequent traveler. It is prevalent in the stuff displayed in all four corners. It looked like a mini art museum to me. =)

Interiors are well-thought of.

Interiors are well-thought of.

Upon interviewing their attendants which courtesy and geniality aren’t canned. There are weekends where there are Art shows by a conclave of local Artists which draw more crowds.

When we came, there are 3 tables occupied inside and 1 outside. After staying for almost an hour, they are still there maybe due to the “homey” feel of the place and during that hour, guests come and go and when we’re about to leave, there’s already couple who are about to occupy the table that we’ve had.

c21

I definitely had a great time..


c13

Spell h-a-p-p-y! =)


c15

And happy tummy! =)

I actually wont mind if Jen will ask me to go back. Not just because of their love for art but because of the other items in their menu that sounds and looks interesting to me too. I am looking forward to try their pizza and paella.

Didn't hurt our pockets at all. =)

Didn’t hurt our pockets at all. =)

Envisioning this pursuit befittingly makes me a foodie… I don’t mind. =)

Leave a Reply

