FIG TREE Cafe – Another Shabby Chic themed restaurant in the Philippines…


Fig Tree Cafe – Another Shabby Chic themed restaurant in the Philippines…

“The best is yet to come…”

Almost everyday I passed by this place before (or after because I came from work) Susana Heights in Muntinlupa, Metro Manila (a town away from my place), I am agitated to stop and drop by and check it out.

Fig Tree Cafe...

Fig Tree Cafe…

As expected, sometimes I am so busy juggling duties at work and at home (and others), Foodie buddy was the one who informed me about Fig tree cafe. Lately, she is now doing recommendations, she knew what I like and what I will approve and not disapprove. I love her for that. =)

Since she told it to me, Fig tree is so distracting and very attractive,

Isn't it so distracting?

Isn’t it so distracting?

each time I passed by it, I really wanted to stop! It’s just that, either I lack time or It’s best to go there with friends, I have been passing by it for months now.

And then finally, We get to see it! Unplanned.

Lovely sight to behold!

Lovely sight to behold!

And believe me, it was so lovely! Very “Shabby chic”. I had this “happy feeling”, that those stuff I am passionate about have been appearing here and there in my own country.

Eclectic too..

Eclectic too..

interiors 4

I fall in love all the time with quotes hanging on the walls. These and family photos take my breath away..

interiors 3

I have been working on my own house too, hanging photos and quotations here and there.

Although, honestly, I also felt something is lacking. I can’t figure it out specifically, The “Shabby chic” feel is there. But I am not seeing something that if I see it, I would instantly know it would be it.

Lighting fixtures..

Lighting fixtures..

Those are pails right?

Those are pails right?

This chandelier I think is the focal point. =)

This chandelier I think is the focal point. =)

Anyway, let’s go to the “Food testing” ceremony.

giant jar

That giant mug meant for the cubiertos is trending! =) I saw it from Matis’ too!

ceneter piece

Shabby chic isn’t chic without flowers..=)

flowers on table

Each bouquet per table shows one positive word, I thought they’re the seven fruits of the Holy Spirit, although there are a lot of tables.

Since I already had my lunch from work, my Foodie buddy was the one who get to try their “Caldereta”.

Feels like home..=)

Feels like home..=)

It’s one of those staple Filipino food that you will normally see from Filipino households. Along the list are: Adobo, Menudo, Kare-kare, etc. Said list is one of their specialties.

menu

Not too small, not too big for a menu..

menuboard 2

I enjoyed the menu boards written in chalks..

chalk menu

Desserts..

filipino menu

Most of them are favorites of the Filipinos..

filipino menu 2

Filipinos are naturally foodies..=)

I tried it too. And honestly, I liked it. It is very “Caldereta” for me, and not so spicy which is why I like it. I am not a spicy person. I’m like my late father, he doesn’t want food that are too spicy, unlike my son and my mom who always have a sauce with chili during meal times. I’d rather go for food with something salty or sweet on it. Not too much of sour and spicy.

After she finished her late lunch. We ordered for a slice of chocolate cake for her and blueberry cheesecake for me.

She had a hard time consuming it, it's bigger than the usual. ahaha!

She had a hard time consuming it, it’s bigger than the usual. ahaha!

Mine is quite small, though, good enough for me. I even shared some to my buddy.

Mine is quite small, though, good enough for me. I even shared some to my buddy.

I was not able to ask if they’re the one who baked them, although I assume they did, I later discover that they have a Catering business.

Maybe they can help us with our up-coming birthday (s)..=)

Maybe they can help us with our up-coming birthday (s)..=)

Nothing extraordinary to the two sweets that we ordered. Just the usual of what to expect from a chocolate cake and blueberry cheesecake. Just the same, these two are our comfort foods. So, it was a happy experience having our favorites available in their menu.

We can bring friends here!

We can bring friends here!

Maybe we will try next time those cupcakes lining up in their display area.

I see red velvets!

I see red velvets!

As I was asking the attendant who owns the place. He whispered to me that it was that guy sitted on the 3 seater couch on the left corner of the place. He just smiled at us and before I know it, he was gone. I was expecting he would somehow do PR or mingle or just find out whether the food were great or what.

Fig tree cafe is kinda big for a restaurant in the provinces. It can seat around 40 to 50 persons during peak hours. A Cleopatra chair is there for waiting guests.

One of the attendants told us they peak at night..

One of the attendants told us they peak at night..

A vintage bike is also situated beside the entrance giving the feel of countryside scenes.

Very country..

Very country..

The frame reads:

The frame reads: ” ….Ours is my favorite love story..”

Isn’t it nice to dine in a place where you feel like you are being transported to another country and your food are those that your grandma cooks every weekend? Take your pick. I think mine is still “Mechado”.

When we asked for the bill, this one surprised me..=)

Reminded me of

Reminded me of “Papemelroti”, a shop I frequented since college..

They can boast the good ambiance, it was so humid coming from the outside and when they heard us complaining that it was really hot outside, one attendant immediately turned on one ACU (air-conditioning unit) to suffice the temperature outside. So we were very comfortable the whole time we were eating. The lights coming from the outside (because the windows are made of glass panels) weren’t glaring at all because of the dainty curtains they provided.

I guess I'll try their creme brulee too..

I guess I’ll try their creme brulee too..

See you soon Fig tree! It’s cool that you’re just 30 minutes away from our place! =)

Leave a Reply

