MIDAS Cafe at Midas Hotel in Pasay City…


Midas Cafe at Midas Hotel in Pasay City…

Happy Friday everyone! I can’t seem to stop writing. I will write about this hotel in Pasay City which we’ve been meaning to try for a “Staycation”.

Midas Hotel is one of those 5-star hotels lined-up along Roxas boulevard. It used to be the historic Hyatt Hotel, it was then renovated and renamed as Midas Hotel by Genesis Hotels and Resorts, the same company that owns Misibis Bay and Bellaroca Island Resort, still, I must conclude it’d still remain to be a peaceful and luxurious abode in a fast-paced urban place for travelers. It is also a few minutes away from Mall of Asia, the airports, Solaire and Resorts world.

I went over this particular blog a few days ago, but due to tons of “things to do” at work and at home. My “Me time” spent on blogging, traveling, quilting were put aside for a while.

Our original plan is to try Yanagi. A Japanese restaurant located at the mezzanine. However, when we arrive, all seats are taken on a weekday, and we forget to call for a reservation.

They were kind enough to direct us to the Cafe – Midas Cafe, hoping for available seats. When we arrive, we were informed that there are several events and it might not be possible for us to choose our seats. We said it’s okay. We were provided a two seater coffee table which is I guess enough for snacking and not big enough for a real meal.

It wasn’t a problem at all, we only wanted to check their place and ordered for a few to satiate our cravings not necessarily our hunger. When at some point, you’d hear giggles of this group, and another singing “Happy Birthday” from a different group, etc. True enough, it is definitely peak at the cafe.

I like the concept..

I like the concept..

So Jen had the “Midas burger” and I just had Pepperoni pizza. But we were so tempted with the attractive display of their desserts, we ended up availing their “Desserts buffet”.

She had a hard time consuming her burger and I had a hard time with my pizza too.

=)

=)

I helped her with the coleslaw! ehehe!

I helped her with the coleslaw! ehehe!

And I asked her to help me with my pizza too!

And I asked her to help me with my pizza too!

The variant I’ve chosen is of course my favorite pepperoni and was surprise to discover theirs is bigger than the usual. Because we had too much of their desserts. We had halo-halo and ice cream and pieces of bite-size blueberry cheesecake. I also spotted mini cream puffs and tiramisus. And took a bite of each.

midas ice cream toppings

You can top these on your ice cream!

midas desserts

I loved the almonds.. =) and mini cream puffs and mini blueberry cheesecakes!

midas desserts buffet

We weren’t able to try everything.. Just by looking at them made me already full!

midas halo

Besides, I had Halo-halo! =)

midas halo toppings

I got plenty of red monggos and ube..=)

The Head waiter didn’t fail to check us out on top of taking care of the on-going event(s). It was amazing. From the time we placed our order, til they arrived and until we asked them if we can take the pizza home.

We were also informed with pride that the Executive Chef of Midas hotel is the award-winning Chef Arnold Guevarra. Upon research, he was also the Executive Sous Chef of Sofitel Philippines. We all know that Sofitel is very popular for their buffet spread at Spiral Manila. I was able to check it out with some colleagues years ago. And maybe it’s time to ask Jen to go with me and try it again soon.

Let's go to Spiral! =)

Let’s go to Spiral! =)

I also thought of the lobby of Midas hotel to be so grand but it was not that grand. Except for that grand piano! (Am I too literal here?) Lol! And only when I checked the details of those orange boxes out of curiosity, it made me think again. They resemble Hermes boxes! =) Because I was estimating the cost of those bags all in all. Ahahaha! If there’s one original bag inside.

Not until I figured-out that the opulence is coming from the furniture itself. As you will find pieces by Philip Starck here and there.

Are those boxes Hermes?

Are those boxes Hermes?

What struck me the most is the scent that was lingering when we entered the lobby. I thought it was coming from the many flowers scattered in every corner. Though the scent isn’t floral, it is more of a sweet milder lemony scent.

So lovely...

So lovely…

This and the “Midas touch” great service will make me remember Midas Hotel and left with a resolve to come back and enjoy quality “Me” time. This or Henry hotel Manila. They are just a few blocks away from each other. Till then! =)

We ought to validate this soon! =)

We ought to validate this soon! =)

Yey!

Yey! Happy tummies!

Midas Hotel is located at 1501 Roxas Boulevard, 2702 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay, 1300 Metro Manila. You can contact them at:  902 0100

Leave a Reply

